Tribal Climate Leaders Program

The Tribal Climate Leaders Program (TCLP) supports Native American graduate students to become the next generation of tribal environmental leaders. The TCLP currently provides 5 fully-funded, 2-year fellowships to pursue a graduate degree at the University of Colorado Boulder in fields related to climate adaptation science. The program is open to Native American students affiliated with the 32 federally-recognized tribes in the 7-state North Central region. This a pilot program; new applications are not being accepted at this time.

TCLP Fellows

Ida Clarke
MS Student, Environmental Engineering
William Crawford
MS Student, Environmental Studies
Shelby Ross
PhD Student, Department of Geography
Vaughn Vargas
PhD Student, Civil Engineering
Colette Werk
MS Student, Environmental Studies

TCLP Advisors

Jennifer Balch
NC CASC University Director, Associate Professor, Department of Geography jennifer.balch@colorado.edu
Clint Carroll
Associate Professor of Ethnic Studies, Center for Native American & Indigenous Studies (CNAIS) clint.carroll@colorado.edu
Lisa Dilling
NC CASC Adaptation Co-Lead & Professor, Environmental Studies Program lisa.dilling@colorado.edu
Amy Javernick-Will
Nicholas R. and Nancy D. Petry Professor in Construction Engineering and Management amy.javernick@colorado.edu
Julie Ann Korak
Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering Julie.Korak@colorado.edu
Diane McKnight
Professor, Environmental Studies Program, Professor, Environmental Engineering Program, Institute Fellow, INSTAAR diane.mcknight@colorado.edu
Keith Molenaar
K. Stanton Lewis Professor of Construction Engineering and Management & Interim Dean, College of Engineering & Applied Science molenaar@colorado.edu
James Rattling Leaf, Sr.
Consultant to Great Plains Tribal Water Alliance jamesrl413@gmail.com
Dr. Colleen E. Reid, PhD MPH
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography & Faculty Research Associate, Institute of Behavioral Science (IBS) colleen.reid@colorado.edu
Heather Yocum
Stakeholder Engagement & Communications Lead, CU Boulder Heather.Yocum@colorado.edu