Who We Are

The North Central Climate Adaptation Science Center is a partnership between the US Geological Survey, the University of Colorado Boulder and five consortium partners. We are one of nine regional climate centers in the national CASC network created to help meet the changing needs of land and resource managers across the country. NC CASC serves Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Kansas and Nebraska. 

Leadership

William Travis
University Director, Adaptation Co-Lead, University of Colorado Boulder
william.travis@colorado.edu
Nicole DeCrappeo
USGS Director, NW CASC and NC CASC
ndecrappeo@usgs.gov
541-750-1021
Aparna Bamzai-Dodson
USGS Deputy Director
abamzai@usgs.gov
(970) 889-1231
Jane Wolken
Program Manager, University of Colorado Boulder
jane.wolken@colorado.edu

Principal Investigators

Jennifer K. Balch
Director, ESIIL, University of Colorado Boulder
jennifer.balch@colorado.edu
Molly Cross
Climate Change Adaptation Scientist, Wildlife Conservation Society
mcross@wcs.org
(406) 209-4060
Lisa Dilling
Adaptation Co-Lead, University of Colorado Boulder
lisa.dilling@colorado.edu
Caitlin Littlefield
Lead Scientist, Conservation Science Partners
caitlin@csp-inc.org
Jennifer Zavaleta Cheek
Assistant Professor, South Dakota State University
Jennifer.ZavaletaCheek@sdstate.edu
Laura Edwards
South Dakota State Climatologist, South Dakota State University
laura.edwards@sdstate.edu
(605) 626-2870
Phil Higuera
Associate Professor, University of Montana
philip.higuera@umontana.edu
(406) 243-6337

Scientists & Staff

Anthony Ciocco
USGS Climate Adaptation Scientist
Elsa Culler
Education Trainer, CU Boulder
Elsa.Culler@colorado.edu
Meagan Oldfather
USGS Climate Adaptation Specialist
moldfather@usgs.gov
Christy Miller Hesed
Regional Climate Adaptation Scientist, CU Boulder
christine.hesed@colorado.edu
Brian Miller
USGS Research Ecologist
bwmiller@usgs.gov
(970) 889-1272
Nathan Quarderer
Interim Education Director, Earth Lab, CU Boulder
nathan.quarderer@colorado.edu
Imtiaz Rangwala
Climate Science Lead, CU Boulder
imtiaz.rangwala@Colorado.EDU
(732) 277-8231
Gabriel Senay
USGS/EROS Research Physical Scientist
senay@usgs.gov
(605) 594-2758
Jilmarie Stephens
Research Associate, Future of Fire Project, CU Boulder
jilmarie.stephens@colorado.edu
Stefan Tangen
Tribal Resilience Liaison-Great Plains Tribal Water Alliance
stefan.g.tangen@gmail.com
Ty Tuff
Data Scientist, CU Boulder
Ty.Tuff@Colorado.EDU
Kynser Wahwahsuck
Tribal Climate Resilience Liaison
kynser.wahwahsuck@colorado.edu
Heather Yocum
Stakeholder Engagement & Communications Lead, CU Boulder
Heather.Yocum@colorado.edu
(720) 579-7762

Affiliates, Fellows and Students

Shelley Crausbay
Climate Adaptation Specialist, USFS Office of Sustainability and Climate
shelley.crausbay@usda.gov
Ida Clarke
MS Student, Environmental Engineering, Tribal Climate Leaders Program Fellow
Amanda Cravens
USGS Research Social Scientist
aecravens@usgs.gov
William Crawford
MS Student, Environmental Studies, Tribal Climate Leaders Program Fellow
Kimberley Davis
Research Scientist, University of Montana
kimberley.davis@umontana.edu
Ella Ho
Undergraduate Research Assistant, CU Boulder
Mitchell Eaton
USGS Research Ecologist
mitchell.eaton@usgs.gov
Amanda Kissel
Lead Scientist, Conservation Science Partners
Ben Livneh
Assistant Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering & Director, Western Water Assessment, CU Boulder
ben.livneh@colorado.edu
Wynne Moss
Biologist, USGS Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
wmoss@usgs.gov
Chelsea Nagy
Earth Lab Program Manager & Research Scientist, CU Boulder
chelsea.nagy@Colorado.EDU
Shelby Ross
PhD Student, Department of Geography, Tribal Climate Leaders Program Fellow
Prasad Thota
Graduate Research Assistant, Climate Data, Tools and Science Support